Monday, September 28, 2009

Pre-Season Conference Predictions ('10)

Dallas, TX--The pre-season conference predictions have been released and the Sooners and Huskers are expected to meet in the Big XII Championship Game in December. The Big XII media recently gathered in Dallas for Media Days 2010 and voted on conference order among other things. The Sooners have won the last four conference championships and are expected win it again in 2010. The predicted order of the South division is: OU, Texas, Oklahoma State, Texas A&M, Texas Tech then Baylor. In the North, Nebraska is pegged as the eventual winner who'll face the Sooners in Kansas City. The predicted order there is: Nebraska, Kansas State, Kansas, Colorado, Iowa St. then Missouri.

They also voted on their pre-season all-conference teams. Surprisingly, the #3 rated Sooners only managed to get two players on the first team and three players on the second team. Those players chosen were as follows:

First Team All Big Twelve:
CB Dominique Franks (Sr.)
K Jimmy Stevens (Jr.)

Second Team All Big Twelve:
WR Jameel Owens (Jr.)
DT Gerald McCoy (Sr.)
SS Sam Proctor (Jr.)

Most were shocked when senior Sooners quarterback Sam Bradford was not picked for either all-conference team. Most felt he was a lock to be a first round draft pick in this year's NFL Draft if he had entered. He instead chose to come back to school at OU. Bradford was injured for the second half of the 2009 season. There is some doubt amonst media members if Bradford is actually healthy and maybe that's why he chose to not enter the draft.

QB Jerrod Johnson, A&M (SR)
HB Darrell Scott, COL (JR)
HB Cyrus Gray, A&M (JR)
WR Dez Bryant, OSU (SR)
WR Niles Paul, NEB (SR)
TE Tim Biere, KAN (JR)
LT Lucas Patterson, A&M (SR)
C Alex Smith, KAN (SR)
RG John Williams, KAN (SO)
RG Matt Allen, A&M (SR)
RT Ben Lamaak, ISU (SR)

LE Quintin Woods, KAN (SR)
LE Eddie Jones, TEX (SR)
DT Kheeston Randall, TEX (JR)
DT Jared Crick, NEB (JR)
LOLB Bront Bird TTECH (JR)
MLB Brian Duncan, TTECH (SR)
ROLB Ricky Cavanaugh, A&M (JR)
CB Dominique Franks, OU (SR)
CB Jonathan Hawkins, COL (JR)
FS Earl Thomas, TEX (JR)
SS Victor Johnson, OSU (JR)
K Jimmy Stevens, OU (JR)
P Ryan Doerr, KSU (SO)
RET Chris Harris, KAN (SR)

No comments:

Post a Comment